The Glinka World Soil Prize honors individuals and organizations whose leadership and activities have contributed, or are still contributing to the promotion of sustainable soil management and the protection of soil resources

Gsp Nwsl 009 Glinka

About the prize

The award will contribute in a timely manner to raise awareness of policy makers and the general public about possible solutions to tackle acute national and local problems of soil degradation, and to encourage all stakeholders and soil practitioners to engage in field-oriented work, with direct contributions to the preservation of the environment, food sec

urity and poverty alleviation as specified in the Revised World Soil Charter .

The Glinka World Soil Prize aims to keep up the momentum generated by the International Year of Soils 2015.

Who can be nominated ?

Nominees should have made outstanding achievements in implementing the principles and recommended actions of the revised World Soil Charter adopted by the FAO Conference in June 2015, and the achievement should contribute to one of the five pillars of the GSP (a proven impact at field level will be an added value).

Who can nominate?

All GSP Partners are invit

ed to nominate candidates, either directly or on behalf of a third party. Self-nominations are not allowed and will be disqualified. Nominations can be submitted in English, French, Spanish, Russian, Arabic or Chinese. Once filled, the form should be sent back to:

GSP Secretariat
Viale delle Terme di Caracalla, B709
00153 Roma, Italy
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

What is the dea

dline for submitting a nomination?

Completed nominations can be submitted by post or email and must be received by 30 August 2016 cob Rome time.

How does the nomination process lead to a Laureate?

The GSP Secretariat will

pre-screen the applications. A short-list of the most qualified nominees will then be submitted to the World Soil Prize Selection Committee for examination and subsequent decision.

The designation of the Laureate of the Glinka World Soil Prize will be made by the World Soil Prize Selection Committee, which is composed of eleven members: the Chairperson of the Intergovernmental Technical Panel of Soils; the Chairperson of the Global Soil Partnership Plenary Assembly; the Chairs of the nine Regional and Sub-regional Soil P

artnerships. A representative of the GSP Secretariat will act as the secretary of the Committee, in non-voting capacity.

The award of the World Soil Prize will take place during the annual World Soil Day celebration (5th December) and consist of a USD 15,000 award and Glinka Medal. The Laureate will deliver the Glinka Lecture during the award ceremony and a video-message will be displayed during the opening of the corresponding Global Soil Partnership Plenary Assembly.

Who is Konstantin

Dmitrievich Glinka?

Konstantin Glinka (1867-1927) was a prominent Russian soil scientist who is credited for his unique contribution to understanding the principles of geographical distribution of soils and extensive activities on the exploration, mapping and assessment of vast areas of Siberia, the Far East and Central Asia, as well as his important studies in the areas of soil minerology, chemistry and paleopedology.

Current Sponsors of the Glinka World Soil Prize: Russian Federation

repost from FAO

Copyright © 2020 Евразийский почвенный портал / Eurasian Soil Portal. All Right Reserved.
Powered By Joomla Perfect